Here, chooky chooky …

Despite the reservations I had before last night’s adventure – the thought of painting in front of a whole lot of other people made me very nervous, I have to say – and then when we got there and found that the whole front of the studio was glass, so we would be in full view of the street, well, that caused me a whole lot more consternation:  however, despite all that, I have to say we had a really fun evening, and the Cork & Chroma concept gets a big tick from both of us! 🙂

Let me set the scene for you.    Firstly, a photo of the Creative Process (according to Cork & Chroma):

the-creative-process

Next, a shot of our protective garb for the evening 🙂

img_1024

Suitably garbed, I demonstrate the picture I’m hoping to emulate 🙂

img_1021

So far, so good, right?  Yup 🙂

All together I think there were about 14 of us, mainly women with only 2 or 3 fellas, ranging in age from … hmm, 70+ to mid-20s, perhaps?  For many it was their first time, while others were returning for the umpteenth time.  Amongst those there, we had someone celebrating a birthday; someone celebrating a marriage; and someone celebrating a house purchase, so lots of reasons for celebration!

Our tutor was Georgina or “G”, and she soon had us relaxed and off and running.  Instructions were given for each step of the process, and then it was our turn for action, with music that soon had us singing along and sloshing on paint with gay abandon … OK, maybe that was only me.  The sloshing of paint, I mean.  I swear there were definitely others singing.

Three hours simply flew by, and before you could say “Jiminy Cricket”, it was time to add the final brush strokes, sign our work, and then gather for a group photo.  Which unfortunately I can’t show you, because G took it, and we forgot to ask her to take one for us 😦

So, are you ready for the big reveal?  Are you sure you really want to see it?  (Am I sure I really want to show you????!)  O – kay … here is my rooster!

rooster

I’m a little perplexed by the almost human facial features he ended up with …  No chook I’ve ever seen has looked even remotely human, so I obviously need to work on that! 🙂  (Along with many other things …)

And if Little Sister has anything to do with it, it’ll be same time, same place, same Bat Channel next week, when the picture for the night is this one:

big-eyes

Awww, how can I resist??!! 🙂

PS  Forgot to show you this – my sister has suggested that this fabric would be an appropriate choice for one of my Quilty 365 circles to commemorate our little foray into the ‘art’ world tonight:  I couldn’t agree more! 🙂

rooster-fabric

5 thoughts on “Here, chooky chooky …

Leave a Reply

