Community service … and the Big R!

Community service day

Yesterday my team at work spent some time out of the office to undertake a bit of community service, and we chose to paint out some of the graffiti in our part of town.  We struck a beautiful day weather-wise (after the morning fog lifted), with clear blue skies and a comfortable temperature in which to work outside.  Here we are gathered together in our best old clothes, smiles at the ready, at the start of the morning (minus our team leader, who was Acting Photographer in Charge) 🙂

20160901_091932_resized (1)

And here are some action shots to prove that we didn’t just skive off for the day!

20160901_105947 cropped

 

 

20160901_112220_resized (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good job, team!

 

The Big R Day is coming up really fast!

After nearly 19-and-a-half years with Christchurch City Council, I’m due to retire at the end of this month (scary to think I now only have 4 weeks left …).  I started preparing for this last July, when I was allowed to reduce my working week to 4 days; and as from 1 July this year, I reduced this further to a 3-day week (Tuesday-Thursday), for my final three months.  (I can thoroughly recommend 3 and 4-day weekends!! 🙂 🙂 )  With a retirement function scheduled for the last Thursday in September, I gave some thought as to what sort of gift I would like, and came up with the idea of asking for a small amount of fabric (fat quarter, fat eighth, or even scraps) from any of the invitees who would like to contribute, which I can then make up into a quilt to remember my time at the Council.  So this request was duly included in the invitation, and my friend who is organising the function set up this crate in the office:

DSCF0243 cropped

As you can see, there is already a donation in it – but I’ve been very good, and I haven’t peeked inside the bag … well, not really, but I couldn’t help but see that it was considerably more than what had been suggested; however, when I ‘chastised’ the donor for her generosity she just smiled and shook her head and said, “Oh, I just had a wee clean-out …” . Bless her! 🙂

It’s definitely a little weird thinking that in another four weeks I won’t be working any longer … but I’m looking forward to unscheduled days when I can potter at whatever takes my fancy; not to mention delving into the depths of my fabric stash to reacquaint myself with what I actually have in there, and putting it to good use! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Community service … and the Big R!

  1. Congratulations – retirement is something to look forward to, not to be feared, as some do. Your retirement quilt idea sounds lovely, lots of memories of happy times and workmates.
    But…… don’t think you will be “pottering around” all day. I’m sure you will find that you will be busier than ever!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Jenny- I’ve been surprised by the number of people who’ve asked me, “What are you going to do all day?” – as if there will simply be no way I can fill in all the time I will have! I have every intention of trying enjoy every single minute of retirement, however long it turns out to be 🙂

      Reply
    • The gradual path has been really good for me – not sure how I would have handled a straight ‘go to whoa’ scenario! 🙂 This way I’ve had time to adjust to the changes (eg reduced income vs increased leisure time) gradually, and at a pace and time that suited me. Hopefully this approach works for you too! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

