Quilty 365: Day 213

Unlike June, when I didn’t get a single circle made, July has ended with the full complement done for the month, bringing me up to 213 circles so far.  213!!  I’m actually quite surprised that I’ve made it this far 🙂  But I have, and I’m still enjoying the challenge.

Here’s a photo of July’s efforts:

DSCF0140 cropped

(The two interlocking circles (which I slightly reshaped as hearts) on the last square for the month are in memory of my lovely wedding day forty years ago today (31 July), when Bryan and I got married at home in my parents’ garden, in Zimbabwe.  He was one special man and I still miss him very much 🙂 )

Not only did I complete all the circles for July, but I was very diligent and also cut enough squares and circles for at least another month (possibly even two), so there’ll be no excuse for me missing the deadline!

Quilty 365  I’ll be joining Audrey’s link-up party at Quilty 365 just as soon as she’s ready for us 🙂

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Quilty 365: Day 213

    • I’ve had that strawberry fabric for so long now, I can’t even remember where it came from, nor when I got it! 🙂 It’s been hanging around for a good few years though, and I’ve used it in other scrap quilts I’ve made, so it’s been put to good use 🙂 I’ve just had a look at some of your circles, you’ve got some neat fabric there too.

      Reply
  1. lovely! i have a question for you. are your circles needle turn? and if so, was your little intertwined hearts needle turn also? i just started doing the 365 and am doing needle turn. i am wanting to do my hubs and daughters initials for their birthdays but am unsure if im up to the challenge of needle turning them!!

    Reply
    • No, my circles (and the 2 hearts) are fused onto the background square – at some stage I will go back and do some sort of stitching (either hand or machine) to secure them 🙂 I’m sure you’ll have fun doing it – mine will end up a sort of memory quilt by the time I’ve finished celebrating birthdays, anniversaries, etc! 🙂

      Reply
      • thanks for answering. ok, good to know. i went ahead after seeing yours last night and did my letters. i used freezer paper and ironed the seam allowance to the back. they arent perfect, but thats not the point! and yes i want mine to be a sort of memory quilt too. i love this whole process. i was tickled when i found “quilty 365”! such a fantastic idea. thanks again. love your blocks

      • Look forward to seeing your circles as you work through the year – and you’re dead right, perfect definitely isn’t the point with these circles, to me it’s been about fun and memories 🙂

  2. Wonderful. And what a lovely way to honour your wedding anniversary. Where were you in Zimbabwe? I have happy memories of short holidays in Zimbabwe; mostly Harare.

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂 I was born and lived in Harare for 22 years, went to junior school in Harare and senior (boarding) school in Mutare. Great place to grow up then, but certainly wouldn’t want to live there now … NZ is definitely the place for me! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Admire you ladies doing all those circle blocks! I thought I was nuts doing the Circa 2016! LOL
    Many good memories for you to reach into. Hope your day was good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

