Coming along nicely …

To be honest, when I selected this UFO to be my May project, it was my second choice … I’d already chosen, and started work on, another UFO of similar long-time-no-see vintage (a little tumbler quilt of recycled flannel materials), but by the time I’d sewn two rows of that together, I knew it wasn’t going to make me happy, so I put it away and chose this one instead.  And, as you will see by these progress photos, my second choice is coming along nicely 🙂

Here’s what I started with:

DSCF9628 cropped

And then – thanks to two serendipitous finds in a rummage through my stash – I added a narrow border around each block, and sashing between blocks and rows, and ended up with this:

DSCF9705 cropped

So far so good 🙂  And now, the backing … Wanting to continue with the cat theme, I rummaged further and deeper in my stash, and discovered this little piece, just the right size, just the right theme:  purrfect!! 🙂

DSCF0001 cropped

Look at these little kitties, how could I resist them??

DSCF0004 DSCF0003

So, the blocks became a flimsy, and the flimsy was then batted and backed and ready for quilting …

Now, given that this quilt was started possibly as many as 10 or 12 years ago, when I knew next to nothing about quilting and foundation piecing and mixing different sorts of fabrics together in one project, there are many flaws in it – some bits don’t lie flat, other pieces really shouldn’t be in there at all, and the ric-rac around the cats is – well, let’s just say it could all have been done better.  But you know what?  I don’t care.  Because for all the pieces that I shake my head at and go, “What was I thinking??!”, there are just as many others that have made me smile as I remember where (or who) they came from, what they were before they became scraps, and how much I loved and just had to have some of THAT fabric! 🙂

So, anyway, back to the quilting:  because of said flaws, I decided that some big stitch quilting was probably going to be the best option for this little quilt:  (a) I won’t have to be extra careful when I’m stitching over the bits that won’t lie flat, and (b) it won’t interfere too much with the backing fabric in particular.  So, here’s the first block, quilted with simple, outward-radiating big stiches:

DSCF0022 cropped

And here’s what it looks like on the reverse:

DSCF0017 cropped

(I’m loving the minimal effect of the quilting on the back!! 🙂 )

So I’m a Happy Little Camper at present, pleased with how the project’s coming along, and pleased with my decisions so far.  Of course, there is still the binding to be chosen … 🙂

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Coming along nicely …

  1. Pingback: A Little Cleverness is a Dangerous Thing, Part Two – Deep in the Heart of Textiles

  2. Looks like great progress, and I love the idea of the radiating stitching. And even more, YES, love it all as it is, even when you know what every flaw is. Wouldn’t it be lovely if we could do that with all our work? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

