Quilty 365: Day 121

Although my main focus for this month has been my OMG 60-degree quilt project (see here), I’ve also been trying out a few new things with my circles, so April has been a month of discoveries and learning (not to mention a whole lot of fun! 🙂 ).  Along the way there have been some good experiences, such as exciting finds of Kaffe Fassett fabric in my stash … and some not so good, such as a brain fade when I carefully – oh, so carefully – ironed the Wonder Under to the incorrect side of ten circles of African fabric which I had just cut out … duh!!

Anyway, here’s a photo of my April circles all together:

DSCF9619 cropped

And here are highlights of some of the special ones for the month:

DSCF9610 cropped

1 April

1 April:  This one is in honour of my dad, who died on this day in 1994.  Pa was always a keen gardener, and in later life became an avid hibiscus grower, spending many hours trying to create new varieties by cross-pollinating from one hibiscus to another.  (At least, I think that’s what he was doing – my visits home by this time were few and far between, so I wasn’t always there to observe what he was doing, but I seem to remember it involved wrapping the flower heads in stockings once he’d done the deed … presumably to stop any other pollination from occurring – or maybe it was to collect any seed that resulted?)

 

DSCF9600 cropped

23 April

23 April:  This one is in honour of Mama, whose birthday was on this day, and who died in 1986. The little hearts were created by a heart-shaped paper punch, which failed dismally when I tried to cut just the fabric, but agreed to co-operate when I ironed on some Wonder Under and applied just a touch of force in the cutting process … 🙂

 

 

 

DSCF9596 cropped

28 April

 

28 April:  And this one is for my big sister J, who now lives in Wales, but who farmed next door to the folks in Zimbabwe for many years and was a champion dahlia grower and exhibitor:  happy (belated) birthday!  This circle is very similar to the one I made way back on 2 January for her daughter, my niece (also a J) – only this time, instead of attaching the circlet of flowers by sewing them on, I got really cunning and used fabric glue for the first time.  I was pleased with the result, although my spacing wasn’t quite as good as I would have liked. The flowers are attached to each other when you buy them, and I didn’t really want to cut each one out, so I kept the string of flowers intact and just glued and manoeuvred them into place one at a time; however, this did mean that by the time I got back to the beginning of the circle and realized my spacing was off, the ‘Undo’ option wasn’t really available as the glue had already set …  All part of the learning curve, I guess!  (The flower is, of course, a dahlia, which I printed onto fabric specially for the occasion 🙂 )

And finally, a few of the experimental ones for the month:

 

DSCF9617 cropped DSCF9614 cropped DSCF9599 cropped DSCF9594 cropped

The first two were a trial to see how easy it was to attach little strips of fabric with Wonder Under (this was before I remembered I had some fabric glue) – it was tricky, but doable.  The last two are photos of two of my Zentangles from previous posts (back in 2014, I think), which I printed onto fabric and then selected where I wanted to cut out the circle.  These were both printed onto exactly the same white fabric, with the difference in colour coming from the light at the time the photos were taken (from memory, the first was taken indoors at night, and the second outdoors on a sunny day – interesting to see the difference, isn’t it?).  I was quite chuffed with the way these turned out, so you should probably expect to see more of these as the year progresses 🙂

All in all, a good month! 🙂

Quilty 365

 

Linking up with Quilty 365, courtesy of Audrey of Quilty Folk – thanks, Audrey!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Quilty 365: Day 121

    • Awww, that’s very kind of you! There are some awesome quilters on WP, way more experienced and creative than I am, it’s always inspiring to see what they’re working on. I just love making quilts, and with retirement coming up in just under five months, I’m looking forward to being able to do more and more and more of it! 🙂

      Reply
  1. You have a lovely variety of fabrics; it’s great that you’re dying your own fabric too. I think I might try doing so too. Your experiments are interesting; I’d never have thought of using wonder-under to make difficult fabric easier to handle.

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂 The dyed fabrics were from a Christchurch Quilters workshop I did last year – I now have everything I need to do it at home as well, just waiting for the courage to give it a go on my own! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

