Progress, of one form or another

It’s been a great weekend weather-wise in this neck of the woods, with mild autumn temperatures and no rain (although there is some forecast for tomorrow).  I mowed my lawns this morning and also moved a supply of wood onto the verandah to be close at hand for the coming week – it’s been just a little bit nippy-skippy in the mornings and evenings in the last couple of weeks, and I’ve lit the fire (log burner) quite a few times at night to keep Henry Lee more comfortable inside … 🙂  Despite the coolness in the air, I think autumn is probably my favourite time of year:  I love the beautiful light in the mornings and evenings, which makes for great photos of ‘mists and mellow fruitfulness’ … 🙂

I’ve been making good progress on my April OMG, and am really enjoying this month’s project (yay!!).  On Friday I beavered away creating more triangles and filler rows, until I had this nice little supply ready by yesterday morning:

DSCF9555 cropped

Being the impatient are-we-nearly-there-yet sort of person that I am, I decided this was enough to at least make a start on construction of the first row … so I took the two largest triangles (as per the instructions posted here), and sewed them together:  ta-da!

DSCF9556 cropped

(Those of you who were paying attention to my last post will have noticed my use of some of the Kaffe Fassett fabric I discovered, I’m sure … 🙂 )

And after that there was no stopping me!  So by the time I went to bed last night I had two rows completed:

DSCF9559 cropped

(… not to mention a few neck and shoulder aches and twinges as well … 😦  But it was definitely worth it!)

So this morning I thought I’d ease up on the sewing and do some chores outside first of all (hence the lawn-mowing and wood-moving efforts), and then after lunch I settled down to make some more circles for my Quilty 365 project, as I have totally neglected them so far this month. It was fun using some more of the Kaffe Fassett fabric (I had specially put some aside from the strips, ‘cos I knew I’d get some great circles out of it), and I’ve now caught up to where I’m supposed to be with them – 108 circles on Day 108 🙂  I did have a bit of an issue with the fusible stuff I’m using now, though, with the fusible (ie, sticky) layer detaching from the paper while I was marking and cutting out the circles to iron on to my fabric circles … no idea why, maybe because I’ve had it sitting around for about a year?  It has no label with it nor any instructions, so I’ve just assumed it’s the same stuff and followed the procedure I used last month – it seems to be doing the job OK so far, and the circles will be sewn down in due course, so it shouldn’t be a problem.  How sad it is that I have to go to work again for the next four days, when it’s all going so well!  Never mind, next Monday is a holiday here in New Zealand (Anzac Day), so that’ll give me another good run at both projects 🙂

I’ve spoken before about how much I appreciate what the libraries in Christchurch provide for their readers – one of the things I enjoy is their various blog postings, eg about book recommendations, special interest items and library events, and their school holiday programmes (in the school holidays starting tomorrow, for example, they’re running sleepovers at the libraries for children’s toy animals, with photographs to be taken and posted of the shenanigans the toys get up to when they’re ‘left on their own’ at night – sounds like a lot of fun to me!).  They also post about important anniversaries, and one of their blogs last week caught my eye in particular.  It was headed up, “First National Council of Women, Christchurch 1896”, with this photograph (courtesy of the Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington):

National Council of Women, Christchurch 1896

It was a world first – a national meeting of women who could vote in parliamentary elections.   (Note that on 19 September 1893, after two decades of campaigning, New Zealand became the first self-governing country in the world to grant the right to vote to all adult women – a number of prominent suffragettes of the time were members of the group in this photo.)

Their aim was to ‘unite all organised Societies of Women for mutual counsel and co-operation, and in the attainment of justice and freedom for women, and for all that makes for the good of humanity’.

Over the course of the six days of that first meeting they passed a number of resolutions, including:

  • the need for minimum wages
  • the conditions of divorce for man and women be made equal
  • the private ownership of large tracts of land, and these kept locked up by absentees, is a wrong inflicted on the people, and is detrimental to progress
  • the abolition of capital punishment
  • the continuation of the present system of free, compulsory, and secular education, and the expansion of technical education
  • that women be eligible to serve on all juries
  • a system of Old Age Pensions, or Annuities, should be established

Incredible to think how far ahead of their time these women were with these resolutions – and how much progress we have to thank them for.  I’d like to think that I would have been part of the suffragette movement had I been alive at that time – but I’m not sure I would have had the courage and determination to keep fighting in the way they did:  thank you, ladies! 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Progress, of one form or another

  1. Those are some little bitty pieces! And so precisely pieced!
    I love using up my scraps but usually I sew larger pieces together and then recut them, and I don’t think I would ever attempt triangles – too hard to get those corners sharp! But it looks phenomenal!

    Reply
    • Thank you! It’s all coming together a lot more easily than I thought it would, and it’s a lot of fun – couldn’t do it without my trusty rulers with a 60-degree line on them! Oh, and those precisely pieced little bitty pieces? They were actually made exactly the way you mentioned – bigger pieces sewn together and then recut! (But they do look impressive, don’t they? 🙂 )

      Reply

Leave a Reply

