OMG: March’s Monthly Goal

Decisions, decisions, decisions …  UFO?  WIP??  Something new???  After much cogitation I decided to go with a WIP which I started about six weeks ago, and have been pottering away at between other projects.

My goal for March is to finish cutting these 10″ layer cake squares (I think it was Moda Sticks and Stones, but don’t quote me on that)

DSCF9475 cropped

… into these curved sets …

DSCF9476 cropped

… and then sew them into these curved blocks …

DSCF9478 cropped

… with the aim of finally achieving at least a flimsy by the end of the month.

I’m hand cutting sets of three squares at a time, and trying to use a slightly different curve for each set to give the blocks more variety.  This project is also proving useful in working on my word for 2016, which is ‘Learn’ – I’ve never been brave enough to try sewing anything with curves until now, so this is a ‘two birds with one stone’ project 🙂

I’m tossing up whether or not to use sashing between the blocks, but will decide that once I’ve got them all constructed and laid out.  I have this week at home following a small operation on Friday, so I’m hoping to be able to get some sewing done during my recovery time.  (Happily my son has been able to take some time off work and come down from Wellington to help look after me – lovely to see him again and have him here at such a time.)

Linking up with Red Letter Quilts’ OMG:  One Monthly Goal.

OMG button

Leave a Reply

