Back to the future?

For my December ALYoF project, I’ve decided to return to one of my earlier projects, which I finished to the flimsy stage back in July.

DSCF7920 croppedNow I want to see if I can add borders, piece together a backing (it’ll have to be pieced, because I don’t have quite enough of the chosen backing fabric to do it in one piece), quilt it, and bind it by the end of the month, which I reckon would be a great way to round off what’s been a pretty good year for me project-wise 🙂

Progress is going well so far:  this weekend, borders (in a lovely burnt orange batik lookalike) have been added; backing has been pieced (three pieces of a lovely fresh lime green fabric, sashed together with more of the burnt orange); and now I’m ready to start pinning together the sandwich before moving on to the quilting, which will be simple in keeping with the simple rail fence design of the quilt (or, to put it another way, I’m not brave enough to try fancy… 🙂 ).  Binding will be a dark green mottled batik, which goes very nicely with both the burnt orange and the lime green (don’t you just love it when you can find everything you want in your stash?).

ALYOF logoLinking up with A Lovely Year of Finishes, and looking forward to sharing pictures of the finished quilt at the end of the month!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Back to the future?

Leave a Reply

