What a difference a day makes …

… Twenty-four little hours …  (Are you all singing along yet? 🙂 )

The day that has made a difference for me lately is Friday.  Every Friday.  You see, at the beginning of July I moved onto a four-day working week, in preparation for … RETIREMENT. NEXT YEAR.  What???!!!  I can’t be that old just yet, surely …??  Yup.  Gulp!

Anyway, I thought I’d try easing into it gradually, rather than moving from go to whoa in one fell swoop.  Given how much I’ve always enjoyed a 3-day or occasional 4-day holiday weekend, I tossed up between having Mondays off, or Fridays off, and Fridays won out.  And I have to tell you,  I’M LOVING IT!!!! 🙂 🙂  By about 3 o’clock on Thursday afternoons I’m starting to smile in anticipation – and I love it when people leave the office at the end of Thursday and say, “See you tomorrow”  and I gleefully reply, “Nope, not me you won’t!”  (It makes some of them quite cross!)

What I find really strange is how long my Fridays seem now, and how much I can do in that one extra day off:  lots more quilting, lots more reading, lots more napping … 🙂  I’ve enjoyed a couple of long lie-ins, curled up on the Lazy Boy with a good book and read all day, moseyed into town to have lunch with friends, pottered around several fabric shops, taken the cat to the vet, watched the US Tennis Open – oh, all sorts of random, ordinary things that I would normally have to squeeze into a lunch hour or do after work or fit into my precious two days off over a weekend:  now I can have my cake and eat it too, if you get my drift, because no matter how much or how little I do on a Friday, there’s always Saturday and Sunday waiting in the wings as well!  So Fridays have sort of become “it’s all about me” days, when I relax and chill out and do whatever takes my fancy – and if my fancy is to do nothing much at all, well, that’s absolutely fine 🙂

So, about all that ‘lots more quilting’ I mentioned …  I have to confess that in the last couple of months I have relapsed into the bad habit of starting lots of quilts, getting them to the stage of a finished top, and then moving on to start another one, instead of finishing off the first one.  I decided not to nominate a project to be finished in August for A Lovely Year of Finishes (ALYoF), the online challenge which I’ve been doing this year, and that was a mistake, because it meant my focus and commitment strayed and I ended up starting five new quilts instead of finishing off one 😦  However, one good thing that did happen was that I was selected as one of the winners in the July ALYoF finished projects draw, and was lucky enough to win a US$15 voucher from the Fat Quarter Shop (woohoo!).  I’ve never bought anything from them before, so I quickly got onto their website and found a bargain offer of 12 fat quarters for US$19.95, so my voucher almost covered all of that and I only had to pay for the postage:  good deal!

Fat quarters

(I know the more observant among you will quickly have noticed that there are only 11 fat quarters in this photo, and not 12 …  And that’s because one of them has already been snaffled for the latest project!  It was a rather nice purple paisley … 🙂 )

 

 

And that was followed a week or so ago by a special offer of 20% discount from my very favourite online fabric store, Hancock’s of Paducah, to say thank you for being such a good customer – how could I resist such blatant flattery?  You’re right, I couldn’t!  So now I need to get back on track and select an ALYoF project to get finished in September – and it’ll have to be something I can get done before 20 September, as I’m heading across the ditch (sorry, local lingo:  across the ditch = Australia) for a month’s holiday, and I do not intend to take a quilt with me to finish over there!  I shall decide which project later today and let you know.

In the meantime, I’d better get back to the sewing machine and get on with the latest project – a disappearing 9-patch:  I’d never done one before, and now I’m on my fourth one in a row – I just love the way you can turn an ordinary old 9-patch block into something exciting and entirely different!  And it’s also a good way of using up some of my scraps, which have been quietly multiplying of late …

Hope your Friday is going as well as mine is! 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “What a difference a day makes …

  1. What a handsome Henry! Love the 3-day weekend plan. It does feel good and don’t worry, you might inspire someone else with your barbs! I think we should all strive for more me-time. Work is over-rated. Play is where it’s at. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

