A new project for June

ALYOF logoI’ve long admired bargello quilts, and some years ago purchased “Bargello quilts with a twist”, all keen and eager to try out one of the variations – and then the book sat and sat and SAT on my shelf.  I collected fabrics for two possible quilts, and still the book sat on my shelf.  And then last weekend, thinking about what I wanted to do for my June ALYoF project, I plucked the book off the shelf, pulled out the fabrics, put away the procrastination, picked out a pattern, and finally – FINALLY – started making one!  So here’s a taste of my June project, a baby Bargello with a twist, which I’m aiming to have all sewn up and completed by the end of the month 🙂

DSCF7794

9 thoughts on “A new project for June

    • Thanks, Tiny 🙂 I’m very happy with how it’s progressing, and have learnt a thing or two along the way about cutting and sewing together thin strips of fabric, so it’s been a good project to tackle!

      Reply
  1. You’ve made a good start by choosing beautiful fabrics for those blocks! I know how it is to let ideas sit and sit, but I know you’ll get the top finished this month!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Sandy! It’s going really well, just a little more big stitch quilting to finish off and then it’s on to the binding, so should definitely get it done this month 🙂

      Reply
    • Thank you! I now have the blocks all sewn together, plus two borders added, and need to decide whether to simply back it with a fleecy type of material that I used in a previous quilt (when I had some issues with wrinkling of the fleece, which is why I’m a little hesitant …), or whether I use a nice floral flannel material I have on hand plus batting: decisions, decisions! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

