Yay, another project done and dusted!

ALYOF logoI felt quite pleased with myself last Thursday, as I managed to get my April project for ALYoF (A Lovely Year of Finishes) fully completed by the end of the month, rather than just to the flimsy stage which I had set as my original goal.  Having a 4-day weekend over Easter, as well as a 3-day weekend towards the end of the month for Anzac Day observance certainly helped. 🙂

It was a good learning curve, this project, and at the end I probably felt about 60% happy with how it finished up.  I definitely need to work on matching my seams better, and need to take a little more care with the cutting process as well, but it was still a fun project to work on 🙂  I ended up doing some big stitch quilting to tie it all together, using a variegated thread which created a pattern of its own on the reverse side which I found quite pleasing.

First up, a photo of the finished quilt:

DSCF7641 cropped

Next, a photo of the reverse – you can see the sort of ‘improv’ effect of the variegated thread 😉

DSCF7630 cropped

And finally, a close-up of the big stitch quilting on the front and back:

DSCF7626 cropped    DSCF7634 cropped

As I mentioned in a previous post, there’s a Facebook page for OBW fans (https://www.facebook.com/groups/1435295876732150/), and I’m really enjoying seeing some of the projects people are working on.  I’ve already decided on my May ALYoF project (coming up in a separate post), but have been sorely tempted to change my mind and try another OBW after seeing some of the beautiful projects being created …  However, since my intention in taking part in ALYoF is actually to finish off some of my UFOs, I’m going to be strong and resist the temptation!

It’s been a lovely weekend weather-wise here in Christchurch – actually, the forecast looked pretty good for the whole of the country – unlike Brisbane on Friday night, when the Anzac rugby league test between the Kiwis and the Australian Kangaroos had to be postponed due to torrential rain and a waterlogged pitch.  The match was rescheduled for this evening and is due to start in about 20 minutes – our record in these matches has been horrible, but that doesn’t stop me saying, Go, Kiwis! 🙂

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Yay, another project done and dusted!

  1. I love the big stitch quilting and that peek-a-boo pattern the variegated thread made on the back! I’ve been doing all my quilting on a rather old standard machine – I don’t have the option of making different stitches or one that big. I’ve been toying with getting a new machine – I may just have to take the leap!

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂 I also only a rather old standard machine (my big stitch quilting was done by hand, by the way), with no walking foot, so quilting is always a bit of a quandary for me! I keep it very simple, or else I will tie the quilt instead – quite enjoy that, it’s quicker and easier than trying to force a double bed-size quilt through my machine! I’ve also been thinking of getting a new machine – but then I think again about whether or not I can really justify the expense, when I’ve managed for 35-plus years with my present model, and so far I haven’t got beyond those second thoughts 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

