My April ALYoF project

ALYOF logoGiven how I posted lately (see here) about my fascination with kaleidoscope quilts or one block wonders (OBWs), I thought I’d attempt one of these quilts as my April project for A Lovely Year of Finishes (ALYoF).

As I mentioned in my previous post, I already have two OBWs cut out, so logically I should have chosen between one of them … but I didn’t.  I have now cut out a third OBW, and will work on this one and the second one during April, with the aim of getting one of them completed to at least the flimsy stage by the end of the month deadline.

Here’s a photo of the two fabrics I’ll be using to make the OBW hexagons:

DSCF7375

The top fabric is a recent purchase – beautiful, old-fashioned floral print, I just love it.

The second fabric was a purchase several years ago from Trade Me (for those of you outside New Zealand, this is our local equivalent of E-Bay) – it was a package of several strips of material (26 metres in total) left over from sheet making, and over the years I’ve used it in several scrap and strip quilts, so it’s nice for a change to be able to use it as the sole fabric in a project.

Both of these will be small quilts, perhaps wall hanging size – unless I get really carried away … 🙂

I’ve made a start on sewing the hexagons together, and have discovered it’s a lot more pernickety than I expected, so thank goodness for the 4-day break over Easter, which should give me a good start! 🙂

7 thoughts on “My April ALYoF project

    • Thanks, Tiny – started sewing one of them together yesterday, and am even more entranced by the results, so I can see a few more of these in my future quilting projects! Happy Easter to you too 🙂

      Reply
  1. Hello, again. Came to check out your blog and let you know I figured out how to add you to the Facebook One Block Wonder Group. I would need to know what name you use for FB, or you can just friend me. My name is Carolyn Lingor.
    Love the top fabric that you chose for a OBW!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

