My ALYOF project for February

ALYOF logoAfter much internal discussion a few days ago (see here for details), I have decided to make this my February ALYOF project:

DSCF6790 cropped

And it will have a pieced backing using these:

DSCF6832 cropped

The backing will just be simple different sized rectangular blocks of the light brown fabric, bordered by the coloured strips, all of which fabric comes from my stash.  (Big tick for me! 🙂 )  I might also do a little bit of applique on some of the larger blocks, just to break up the monotony of the brown – it all depends on time available, given that February is a short month 🙂  Luckily we have a holiday today, being Waitangi/New Zealand Day – not that I’ve been doing any quilting so far, mind you, having had my nose stuck in a good book all day!

A real change in the weather overnight – it was lovely to step outside yesterday evening and smell the fresh rain, as we’ve had a very dry spell lately, but it’s brought with it a real drop in temperature.  I’m just hoping it’s going to perk up again in time for the Cricket World Cup, which starts a week tomorrow – can’t wait! 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “My ALYOF project for February

  1. Pingback: My February ALYOF finish | Me 'n' Henry Lee

    • Thank you! I’ve just about finished putting together the bits and pieces for the back, all I have to do now is sew them together (and make sure it ends up the same size as the front, LOL! ‘Cos basically I’m making up the backing as I go along, no pattern or anything.). Then it’ll be on to basting it all together, deciding on whether to quilt or just tie it (I’ve tied a lot of my quilts recently, and enjoy the simplicity and speed of it), and then bind it. It’s probably going to be tight to get it done by the end of the month – particularly given that the Cricket World Cup starts this coming weekend, which will mean wall-to-wall cricket on TV for the following 2 weeks, and given that I love my cricket, I just know that’s going to eat into my quilting time! 🙂 But I’ll do what I can, and if I don’t get there, I’m not too worried.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

