2014 and all that …

Putting aside all the hype and hustle and bustle of Christmas for a moment, I do enjoy this time of year for the opportunity it provides me to pause and catch my breath. Most years I manage to achieve a break of approximately two weeks, in which I unwind, reflect on the year that’s passed, and look forward to what may lie ahead.

On the whole, 2014 was not a vintage I want to savour and remember, nor look back on with a feeling of things achieved or plans met and dreams fulfilled. That’s not to say there weren’t any highlights or good times: there were, but sadly, in my mind they are overshadowed by the dramas in my bridge-playing life back in March, which eventually led to my decision in November to resign from both my bridge clubs, and to stop playing altogether. (Interesting to note since then that I’m not actually missing it as much as I thought I would, which reinforces my feeling that it was the right decision to make, and that it is time to let go of the hurt and the anger and the frustration. That part of it – the letting go – is still a work in progress, I have to say, but distance and not being involved in any way are certainly helping.)

Having more time on my hands has meant I’ve been able to do more reading and quilting, both of which give me so much pleasure. I recently had a go at doing some Big Stitch quilting, which I’ve seen mentioned on quilting blogs, on the quilt I mentioned here – I was reasonably pleased with my first attempt, although I definitely need more practice on achieving more consistent and even stitching on the reverse side! πŸ™‚

Here are a couple of photos of the end result:

DSCF6625 cropped

DSCF6627 cropped

I’ve also been doing some more work on the scrap quilt mentioned here – as you can see, it’s moved on a bit and has now reached the stage where I need to start thinking about what I’m going to back it with, and then start putting it together.
Scrap quilt 2014-11-23
I do enjoy this sort of workΒ – I find it very satisfying taking all those itty-bitty pieces of fabric (which would otherwise be thrown away) and creating something like this (pause while I bask in all those wonderful feeling-virtuous waves washing over me … πŸ™‚ )

A couple of days ago I decided it was time to do an audit of projects I’ve got on the go at the moment, and sort through my fabric stash. I have to say my findings were both startling and embarrassing … 18 works-in-progress (WIPs) at the moment. 13 different kinds of cat-related fabric in my stash. 19 different kinds of children’s fabrics. Over 50 kinds of batik fabrics. And over 200 different kinds of floral fabric (200??? Good grief!!). So, some stern resolution is required of me in 2015, to finish off some of the WIPs, to use my fabric stash for any new projects, and not not NOT to buy any more fabric!! I’ll let you know how I get on … πŸ™‚

In the meantime I’ve lost track of what day of the week it is, been enjoying the Test cricket on TV (NZ vs Sri Lanka), and laughing at Henry Lee’s antics as he played with a paper bag next to me while I was quilting – he’s a great time waster, that cat! πŸ™‚
DSCF6635

8 thoughts on “2014 and all that …

    • Thank you for your positive comments and good wishes, I’m really hoping the year ahead has none of the drama of last year, and that there will be good memories to look back on at the end of 2015. Hoping also that I will have made good inroads into reducing the number of quilting WIPs and using up some of my fabric stash – then I’ll know I’ve really had a good year! πŸ™‚

      Reply
    • Thank you! I’m determined to make a better job of finishing off the WIPs this year, and feel I’m off to a good start already, as a few minutes ago I just finished the last stitch on one which I started on Boxing Day! Amazing how much you can get done when other things, such as work (boring!), don’t get in the way πŸ™‚ Sadly it’s back to the office on Monday for me, which will slow down the quilting progress somewhat 😦

      Reply
  1. I am absolutely flabbergasted (and the name of Jane Duncan immediately pops into my mind – ah yes, ‘My Friend Monica’ I think) when I consider 200 pieces of floral material in your stash; even more flabbergasted when I consider that a ‘piece’ is not just a single little piece but more likely a whole wad of pieces which could constitute a whole yard or more of material! And you have got over 200 of them, plus all the batik material, etc. etc.! What joy! Now you just need the time to play with them all. (Maybe I should also do a count of my stored materials!)

    Reply
    • Joy with a capital J, Jill! πŸ™‚ And you’re right about those 200 pieces not just being single little pieces … Must say that going through my stash was really quite energising, and I’ve just finished a WIP which I started on Boxing Day with materials I found during the ‘audit’, so it was a productive exercise as well πŸ™‚ Sadly the holiday is nearly over and it’s back to work on Monday, which will slow down the quilting progress a little. (I’ll also have to have a look at ‘My Friend Monica’ to see why flabbergasted brings Jane Duncan and that book in particular to mind – you’ve got me curious now!)

      Reply
  2. Of course I don’t know what happened with your bridge clubs, but I’ve also felt hurt and betrayed by those I thought I knew, and cast out of a group in which I’d been a model citizen. It left me feeling powerless and defiant, perhaps the perfect combination. I had to rebuild my power, and part of that has come from understanding better both the good and bad of the group and my role in it. So my sympathies for you as you continue to recover, though it sounds like you’re well on your way. As you (we) pass anniversaries or markers of these events, you (we) will feel more in control.

    Wishing you many blessings in the new year. Peace.

    Reply
    • Thank you for your kind words of support. There were others who shared the bad experience at one of the clubs along with me, and I think what hurt us most was that we believed we were acting in the best interests of the club, but others didn’t see it that way. I’m still a little bemused by how badly it affected me, taking me to a point where I just didn’t enjoy playing at all, and my thinking became, why continue doing something that gives me no pleasure when there are so many other things to do and experience which will make me happy? One of life’s lessons, I guess! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

