Yay, a sunny day!

SO nice to see the sun this morning, after such a wet old week:  my positivity scale immediately jumped at least ten points! 🙂

Made a trip into Christchurch today as I had some library books to return, and took the opportunity to photograph some of the street art and temporary art installations, as well as the cardboard cathedral and a Student Volunteer Army project.  As I don’t get into the city centre very often I’m not sure how long the SVA project has been there – to be honest it was looking a little tired and neglected, but I like the concept and thought that went into creating it, so I decided to share it with you anyway.

First up, street art – or is it graffiti?  With some of it I felt it was a pretty fine line … but I’ll let you be the judge 🙂

Graffiti or Street Art 2013-12-31

Next was the SVA project, Road Cone Chess:  those of you familiar with Christchurch may remember the large chess game which was set up in Cathedral Square, an area which (as far as I know) is still cordoned off – this project was a quirky attempt to fill the gap.  As I said, it was looking a little neglected – a lot of the plants had died, which makes me think it’s been a good while since it was originally set up.  I did like the novel way of reusing 2L plastic bottles and old footballs, though! 🙂

Road Cone Chess

I then moved on to a temporary art installation which I have to say, brought a lump to the throat and a few tears – such a poignant way of remembering the 185 people who died in the February 2011 earthquake.

185 Empty Chairs 2013-12-31

And finally, I finished up at the cardboard cathedral.  You may remember I wrote about this back in March, and said at the time that I wasn’t sure it was quite right for Christchurch.  The discussion (to use a polite term) is still raging over whether or not the damaged cathedral should be fully restored or not, but in the meantime the cardboard cathedral – or Transitional Cathedral as it’s now called – seems to be doing an admirable job of filling the gap.  The thing that struck me immediately is how light and bright it is inside – alright, it was a beautiful sunny day, granted, but the stained glass windows do a wonderful job of letting in the light; the simple, almost minimalist lines of the building are quite striking; and there’s a lovely feeling of space inside.  One of the guides on duty mentioned that the acoustics are wonderful as well, so it looks as if it’s ticking a few boxes 🙂

I was far more impressed than I had expected to be, and also surprised at how different it looks now that it’s finished:  I guess it’s that old adage of not judging a book by its cover!

Cardboard Cathedral Update 2013-12-31

Righto, just off to do a bit of Zentangling to finish off the day – can’t believe it’s going to be 2014 in just under an hour, how on earth did we get through 2013 so quickly???  Anyway, my very best wishes for the new year to you all, I hope your celebrations are safe and happy, and that 2014 is going to be kind to us all.  Take care, and we’ll talk again next year! 🙂

One thought on “Yay, a sunny day!

  1. Pingback: Empty Chairs @ Christmas | holistic complications

Leave a Reply

