A satisfying day …

It’s been grey and wet (and cool – almost cold) for most of today, so I lit the fire, cranked up the music (Ol’ Blue Eyes – Mr Sinatra – wallowing in a little bit of nostalgia, I was) and spent most of the morning on the sewing machine, ‘making’ fabric a la Victoria Findlay Wolfe’s 15 Minutes of Play (see here for more info).  Funny, though … no matter how many scraps I use in this sort of exercise, the piles (and piles and piles and piles of scraps) never seem to grow any less – how does that happen??!

Did a little bit more gardening this afternoon, preparing two more large containers for plantings, and went for a walk after tea this evening.  I chose to turn left onto the road tonight, which takes me past three different herds of cows:  the Beauties, the Scubbers, and the Beefies 🙂

The Beauties are a group of mainly Jersey heifers (with one or two black and white renegades), who invariably see me before I see them and come thundering up to the fenceline to walk along with me as I pass by – in return I stop at the gate and tell them all how beautiful they are, and they of course nod their heads in agreement.  Me and Jersey cows, we go a long way back, as you’ll see from this picture of me and my big sister at the Salisbury Show back in, oh, about 1953:

Me and Jill at Salisbury Show

When my folks started their dairy herd in Zimbabwe, it was all Jerseys; when big sister (in the photo) started her dairy herd in Zimbabwe, it was all Jerseys; and when I dabbled in a little dairying down south a few years ago, the majority of the herd was Jerseys, so you can see it runs in the family 🙂

Anyway, back to this evening’s walk.  The next herd I call The Scrubbers because they are grazing in what is pretty much scrub land, and they ain’t the prettiest gals, if you get my drift – mixed breeds and definitely not the grace and charm of their Jersey sisters up the road.  The last group, The Beefies, are lovely sleek, black Aberdeen Angus, solid muscle and power and oomph!  My encounters with all of them always add a smile to my face and pleasure to the walk, and I’ll miss them when they eventually move to other paddocks.  Somehow the flock of sheep along the way just doesn’t hold the same charm …

I was trying to learn how to use the continuous shooting mode on my camera this morning, so I could capture the raindrops falling on and from the leaves of the clematis – you know, so I could get one of those dramatic shots of a droplet splashing up as it hit the leaf.  My success was very limited, I have to say, and I definitely need more practice so I can actually freeze the splash effect.  This is what I got instead:

The Before Shot:

S0132339

and the As It Was Happening Shot!

S0132340

I shall work on this.  I did get some other photos as well, though, so have attached a little montage of those.

Photo quilt 2013-12-27

And now, I’m off to do some more Zentangling! 🙂

2 thoughts on “A satisfying day …

  1. Sasa, the Jerseys in the family actually started way back in the UK after the war, we had one cow to provide milk for the family – five kids, remember (and cream, crowdie cheese and butter in those days of food rationing); that one cow produced two heifer calves, and that was the start of the family love for Jersey cows.

    Reply
    • Ah, that adds another piece to the puzzle, thanks, Jill! Now, I have to confess to ignorance on what crowdie cheese is: so I consulted my good friend, Google, who informs me it’s a “vegetarian Scottish cheese made from cow’s milk … made by curdling skimmed milk with rennet … sour tasting, very similar to cottage cheese … its texture is very creamy and crumbly … goes well with a dry white wine such as a French Sauvignon Blanc”. So did Mama make it in her kitchen, or did they have a special dairy room or shed? And what on earth is meant by a ‘vegetarian cheese’ when it’s made from animal products, isn’t that an oxymoron?? And where was the family’s wine cellar with the French Sauvignon Blanc to go with the crowdie cheese??? Just trying to fill in the gaps in the family history, that’s all … ;)))

      Reply

Leave a Reply

