On the twelfth day of Christmas …

Back in July 2012, Christchurch Art Gallery hosted an outdoor exhibition (amongst the rubble in Madras Street) featuring Michael Parekowhai’s spectacular installation, “On First Looking into Chapman’s Homer” (see here for further details).  I never actually got to see it then, but the pictures intrigued me, and the raw power of the exhibit somehow resonated with many Christchurch residents following the upheavals of the earthquakes and all the damage and disruption they caused.

In September 2013, the standing bull returned to Christchurch as part of a Pledge Me campaign by Christchurch Art Gallery Trust and Westpac Bank to bring it back to Christchurch for good, at a cost of $400,000:  providing the people of Christchurch raised the first $200,000 themselves, the trust and the bank would then match that figure, and the bull would be installed in a permanent home outside Christchurch Art Gallery once it re-opens.  I’m proud to say that I pledged my support for the campaign, and along with many, many others, we raised $206,210 to ‘bring back the bull’.  I received a beautiful glossy poster of the bull, which I will get laminated to protect it, and this cute postcard showing me what piece of the bull I had ‘purchased’ with my pledge:

Chapman's Homer 1  Chapman's Homer 2

Having put my money where my mouth is, I’ll have to make sure I get down to the gallery in due course to examine my purchase! 🙂

Busy day in the garden today, making the most of the good weather before the rain sets in tomorrow for next few days – got most of yesterday’s acquisitions planted, but still have a couple left for which I have yet to decide on location, location, location … 

Don’t know about you, but I can get sidetracked very easily when I’m out in the garden – one thing leads to another, and before I know where I am, suddenly I’m working on something completely different to what I intended!  Take today, for example.  I have five worm farms in the garden, three at the side of the house, and the other two in a shed just over the creek (all five were over there originally, but I moved three of them closer to the house earlier this year, just to make it easier to feed and check them from time to time).  Anyway, I started out this morning by cleaning out the fridge to make way for some fruit and a watermelon which I purchased yesterday (LOVE watermelon at this time of year!), and thought I’d chop up some old apples, celery, broccoli and carrots that I was throwing out, and feed them to the worms.  And then I decided that it would really be much easier if I moved the two worm farms from over the creek to beside the house, so they could all play Happy Families together.  And while I was doing that, I decided to use some of the beautiful rich soil from the worms to make a new flower bed around the white clematis at the side of the house, and plant some of the grasses I bought yesterday there as well.  And then I thought, How am I going to edge this new flower bed?  And I spotted a log which came off the tree which fell on the house during the high winds back in September, and I thought, I could cut that in three, one long side and two short, and that would make a lovely rustic surround for the flower bed … So I got out the chainsaw, set up the workbench, measured and cut the log into three, trimmed off all the little sticking out bits, dug over the ground, added the worm soil, dug out some compost from one of my four compost heaps, added that as well, planted the grasses and watered them in, and hey presto, a new flower bed was born! 🙂

Photos will follow tomorrow – got so engrossed in what I was doing I completely forgot to record the project …

Had to have a rest after all that work … but I got the lawns mowed this afternoon, and then went for a walk this evening for nearly an hour, so the old body’s certainly had a good workout today!

Well, we’ve reached the final day of the Christmas photo quilt today.  I’ve enjoyed putting it together for you, and I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing some of the photos that didn’t make the cut first time around:  we must do this again some time! 🙂

2013 photo quilt – 12th day of Christmas

PS  Look at that:  not a single word in this post about H.L. or any other feline – that has to be a record! 🙂

Leave a Reply

