On the eleventh day of Christmas …

Final bit of shopping in town today, and then I called round to a friend’s place to pick up a library book I had loaned her – she has a lovely garden, so I spent a very pleasant half-hour or so with my camera capturing some of her beautiful lillies (and other things) which are in full flower at the moment.  She describes her garden as being “a bit of this person and a bit of that person”, meaning that lots of what’s in it has been given to her by friends, and she’s more than happy to share what she has with others in turn (I have some of her irises in my garden, for example):  isn’t that a lovely way of sharing the joys of gardening?  Having a great garden can be a lot of hard work, but can give such pleasure and satisfaction, I’m sure it’s all worth it.  (I have a long way and a lot of hard work to go before I have a great garden!) 

Here are a few photos from my visit:

I did stop at a garden shop (my favourite – Bunnings!) myself this morning, looking for some more colour to add to the garden plus some grasses for one bed that’s sheltered by trees and pretty dry (I don’t have the time or the money to water myself or set up an automatic watering system); so I’m sure you can guess what I’m going to be doing tomorrow!  If I can get everything planted that will be good, as the forecast for Wednesday to Friday is for rain, which will just help the plants to settle in nicely 🙂

Penultimate offering in the 12 Days of Christmas ‘quilt’ tonight, mainly photos of a trip I made down to Invercargill and Te Anau at the end of November, plus – yes, you guessed it – more clematis, rhodos, and cats!  Oh, and a few roses from the garden at Avice Hill thrown in for good measure.  Back tomorrow with the final one! 🙂

2013 photo quilt – 11th day of Christmas

One thought on “On the eleventh day of Christmas …

Leave a Reply

