On the third day of Christmas …

What a lovely day it was today!  And productive, too – lawns mowed, new plants planted, watering done, washing done, Christmas newsletter finished off:  such a busy little bee I’ve been!  🙂  And the final polish of today’s halo will be this post, with a photo selection for the third day of Christmas.

One more week of work to go:  yippee!  Time to finish off a few things in the can’t-be-bothered-right-now-but-I’ll-get-to-it-later basket at work (come on, now, I know you have that kind of basket as well), and turn my mind to new and exciting ideas of things to do to keep me entertained at home in the two-week break.  Last year I did a sort of Mind Map exercise and it was fun seeing how one idea led to another, so I’ll try that again this year.  There’ll be the usual things to include, of course – reading, sleeping in, staying up late … wait a minute, I do that every day, so that’s not really new and exciting:  try again!  OK … how about a little Zentangling?  Zen-what-what-what??  Zentangling:  “an easy-to-learn, relaxing, and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns”.  (Some people reckon it’s just another form of doodling, but I think there’s a little bit more to it, and I just love some of the work I’ve seen by the two people who started it off, Maria Thomas and Rick Roberts.)

Check out the official Zentangle website at http://www.zentangle.com/ – there are lots of other links on the internet as well, with videos and ideas and instructions a-plenty.  I came across Zentangling in a Christchurch City Libraries blog a couple of months ago, and thought it looked pretty cool – I’ve had a couple of plays so far, just dabbling like, but I’ve now bought myself a starter kit (Tangle Art), and got a couple of books from the library, and I’m ready to get into it!  What I really like is that they ASSURE me I don’t have to be able to draw to enjoy Zentangling:  sounds good to me!  You may (or may not) see the results as I progress … 🙂

And if you’re looking for inspiration, check out this Zentangle quilt made by a chap in England: http://perfectly4med.co.uk/2013/10/07/250000-views-the-giveaway/

He actually gave it away for the 250,000th view of his blog – what a fantastic gift!

Righto, time to call it a day and get this posted – hope your Sunday has been a good ‘un for you, and the coming week treats you kindly as well:  take care, now!

2013 photo quilt – 3rd day of Christmas

3 thoughts on “On the third day of Christmas …

  1. Pingback: Having fun! | Me 'n' Henry Lee

    • Thanks, Jill – it’s been a fun way to share a few more of my photos, as well as review the year through what I captured with the camera. It’s surprising how a sort-of-ordinary shot can be turned into something quirky, appealing or eye-catching with a little judicious cropping! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

