On the first day of Christmas …

Hello, my petals, I’m back!  Did you miss me?  I missed you too 🙂

This not blogging for so long is just not good enough, so in the spirit of Christmas (loving and giving and all that), over the next 12 days I’m going to try to make it up to you – how does that sound?  I was composing my usual Christmas newsletter for family and friends last weekend, in which I normally try to include some photos of what I’ve been up to through the year, and I had the idea of creating a photo “quilt”, along the lines of the mosaic sort of layout you can choose on Word Press when you’re uploading a photo gallery.  Well!  Let me tell you, the project just grew like Topsy, and all of a sudden I had a document that was – wait, just let me check the latest stats – yes, 126Mb in size!!  Which ain’t gonna fit through nobody’s email inbox, no matter how much I might try to push and squeeze and squish it in!  😦

So I’ve decided to revamp it along the lines of “The 12 Days of Christmas”, and publish it over the next 12 days here on the blog instead – then I can just give everyone the link to a much-shortened version of the newsletter each day, and they can choose whether or not they want to have a look at Ben Hur or just be happy with Little Hur 🙂   My 12 Days of Christmas, though, begin today instead of 25 December – so it’s more along the lines of “The 12 Days Before Christmas” rather than “of Christmas”:  I do hope that’s not going to upset the traditionalists amongst you.

The photo selections will roughly follow the 12 months of the past year, with one or two perhaps a smidgin out of chronological sequence due to space constraints, editorial decisions by Henry Lee (who tends to get a bit agitated when there’s not at least one photo of him on each page), or just because I thought a photo looked better here rather than there.  Some photos have featured previously somewhere on my blog, but I have tried to use new ones as much as possible, so it’s not just a “yawn, been there, done that” experience for you all.

Enjoy, my friends, and feel free to ask where, when, what, who and why!

2013 photo quilt – 1st day of Christmas

2 thoughts on “On the first day of Christmas …

  1. Loving reading your blog Petal, has anyone told you that you write just like you talk 🙂
    You don’t have to make it up to me because I’ve only just started following your blog – which I didn’t know existed till you let Henry Lee out of the bag 😉 Fab photos – woman with many hidden talents eh? Which makes me wonder what else you are hiding!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

