Out with the camera on a winter’s afternoon

Despite the fact that we are now officially in winter, it’s been a lovely day today, quite mild with lots of lovely sunshine and a bustling nor’west wind to go with it: good for drying the washing 🙂

Sat up last night to watch the first men’s semi-final in the French Tennis Open – I got as far as the end of the 4th set, when it was 2-2, before I headed off to bed at 2am, and then watched the final set in the highlights this morning: what a match!!! I’m not a real Nadal fan, but have to admire the way he’s come back from his injury and surgery last year, and now seems to be as good as he ever was. I can’t see David Ferrar getting anywhere near him in the final. And as far as the women’s final goes, I couldn’t care less about either of them: Sharapova drives me mad with her shrieking, and I’ve never been a fan of Serena Williams, so guess who won’t be watching that match tonight. 🙂 The All Blacks (our national rugby team, for those not familiar with NZ sports teams) play the French tonight, so that’s definitely on my to view list, and after that I’ll probably turn over to watch the ICC Champions Trophy cricket game between England and Australia (can’t make up my mind who to support in that one …).

Late this afternoon, after I’d finished setting up a supply of wood for the week, I took a stroll around the garden with my camera to see what I could find. The wind made things a little tricky, but I was fascinated by the twists and turns of the dry clematis stalks; found signs of old and new growth amongst the rhodos and the lilac; encountered some members of the pukeko family who live in the vicinity; and was struck by the glow of lichen growth in the later afternoon sun.

First, the clematis:

Next, the rhodos and the lilac:

 

 

And finally, the pukekos and the lichen:

 

And now it’s dinner and couch potato time! 🙂

One thought on “Out with the camera on a winter’s afternoon

Leave a Reply

