Things botanical

Took a walk through the Botanic Gardens after a lunchtime meeting I had today – it was a beautiful warm, sunny day and there were lots of people (and insects) out enjoying themselves as I was.

DSCF5603 cropped     DSCF5630 cropped  DSCF5664

DSCF5621  DSCF5647  DSCF5592

There’s a bit of construction work just beginning in one part of the gardens, with the building of a new information centre which is due to be completed by the end of 2013.  They’ve got quite a nice story board up on the protective fence which surrounds the project, explaining what’s going to be put up and also giving a bit of history of the gardens, given that this year is their 150th year celebration.  I also liked the ‘windows’ cut into the fence at various places, which will allow you to view the construction as it is carried out – it looks as though it’s going to be a rather impressive structure!

Botanic Gardens panel 9

Botanic Gardens panel 1 edited  Botanic Gardens panel 2 edited  Botanic Gardens panel 3  Botanic Gardens panel 4  Botanic Gardens panel 5  Botanic Gardens panel 6  Botanic Gardens panel 7  Botanic Gardens panel 8

I always love visiting the gardens, there’s always something to have a look at, and the bird life is quite prolific and, as per my post of a couple of days ago, quite friendly too! 🙂

Here are a few more flower pictures I took on that previous visit as well …

DSCF5093 DSCF5075 DSCF5089 cropped DSCF5063 cropped DSCF5039 cropped

Am I right in thinking that the first 4 of these are … zinnias???  And that the pink one at the end is a nerine lily??  Love flowers, but I’m darned if I can remember many of their names!  (Being the keen gardeners they were, my parents up in that great garden in the sky are probably rolling their eyes at my ignorance!)

Well, I think that’s enough botanical stuff for tonight – tomorrow we’ll move on to how to achieve world peace, shall we?  See you then! 🙂 🙂

 

PS  Forgot to say how much I’m enjoying the NZ vs England cricket test at present:  go, NZ Black Caps!!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Things botanical

Leave a Reply

