Sunday night and all’s well

It’s been a day of rest for me today – all that walking at the Show yesterday meant I wasn’t very inclined to do much today!

Spent a good portion of the day sorting through all the photos taken yesterday and putting them onto a new page in this blog (Malvern A&P Show:  23 March 2013), which I hope you’ll enjoy looking through – it was a fun day and I don’t think I saw one glum face the whole time I was there, so obviously everyone else was enjoying themselves as well 🙂

Easter weekend coming up in a few days, and I’ve planned ahead and arranged an extra day off on the Tuesday after Easter as well, giving me a 5-day break, during which I’m hoping to get back to some quilting, catch up on some reading, and – providing it’s been delivered, which I’m hoping will be done by Thursday – moving and stacking 18 cubic metres of firewood 🙂  (I feel I might need a few more days R&R by the time I get all that put away under cover!)

EverydayMatters Almost time tonight to feed the cats, make a nice hot chocolate, and head off to bed with a good book – just about to start one called “Everyday Matters”, a memoir by Danny Gregory :

“Danny Gregory and his wife, Patti, were in love.  Their baby, Jack, was ten months old; life was pretty swell.  And then Patti fell under a subway train and was paralyzed from the waist down.  In a world where nothing seemed to have much meaning, Danny decided to teach himself to draw, and what he learned stunned him.  Suddenly things had colour again, and value.  The results is Everyday Matters, his journal of discovery, recovery, and daily life in New York City.  It is as funny, insightful, and surprising as life itself.”

The interesting thing about this book is that it appears to be presented almost in comic form, ie with lots of drawings and sort of hand-written text – could be a bit of a challenge for me to adjust to that, but it’s only a slim volume, so I’m sure I can cope 😉

What’s on your reading list at present?

3 thoughts on “Sunday night and all’s well

  1. Pingback: What day is it today? | Me 'n' Henry Lee

  2. I like the sound of your current book. I am currently reading a book called “Missionaries, Wives and Roses” by Ann Chapman. It is a book about the wives of our early Missionaries and of Ken Nobbs who honoured them in his roses. It links nicely to my discoveries of the heritage and heirloom roses that are in the Pauatahanui burial ground.
    Good luck with all that firewood stacking – a lovely job to stand back and admire once it is done……!

    Reply
  3. Your current book sounds interesting; I shall look for it in the library. At the moment I am into Anna Jacobs’ books, (she guarantees a happy ending!) and Ruth Rendell’s. I was fascinated to find that her ‘Sight for Sore Eyes’ is a prequel to ‘The Vault’; each book is complete in itself, and can be read separately, but they were written about 13 years apart, and where one is simply a story of the actual events, the second is a detective novel solving the mystery. Since I read the second one before the first I shall have to re-read it to see how clever the detectives were. Enjoy your long weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

