Weather report

It’s raining. IT’S RAINING.  IT’S RAINING!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂  [Doing a happy dance to celebrate …]

Oh, that wonderful sound of rain on the roof, and the smell of freshly rained-on earth:  magic, absolute magic!

And I don’t think it’s anything to do with the rain, but my internet connection is really slow at the moment and keeps losing the plot, so I don’t think I’ll be here for a long time tonight … 😉

After waxing lyrical about the fantails the other day, I was all set to post a short video which I took yesterday morning, to show you what I mean about their friendliness and never settling for more than a few seconds:  however, it’s not in a format which is supported by WordPress, so for the moment I’m not able to share it – I shall investigate further to see how/if I can upload it some other way.

In the meantime here are some photos from this afternoon in the garden, just before the rain started  (did I tell you it’s raining??? 🙂 🙂 ).

DSCF4796 DSCF4804 cropped DSCF4812 cropped

2 thoughts on “Weather report

  1. What pretty photos. I have seen lots of white butterflies in the garden this hot summer. And many monarch butterflies in the past month.
    As for the rain….what joy. We had very high humidity last night with lots of wakeful moments so I enjoyed listening to the gentle steady rain falling. It is falling again as I type….gently does it.

    Reply
    • Thank you! 🙂 The white butterflies seem to have arrived only in the last few weeks, along with the bumblebees – there was one feeding at the same time as this butterfly, but I couldn’t get a good enough shot of it to post. I also have a family of pukekos who come to visit each day as well, with 2 or 3 young ones – they’re another favourite bird, I love the way they flick their little white rear ends as they walk! Saw a very funny sight a few weeks ago, with Henry Lee streaking down the road towards home, being hotly pursued by two low-flying pukekos – obviously he’d got just too close for comfort! 🙂 🙂 Having the creek running alongside my garden certainly does attract the pukekos and also the ducks, although strangely enough, I don’t recall seeing any ducklings … Hmmm, just thought, maybe my cats have something to do with the apparent lack of ducklings … 😦

      It’s still raining here, gently and persistently – just lovely. Although the forecast tonight says it will clear tomorrow, to be followed by another 10 days or so of good weather, which will no doubt cancel out any good done by the present showers. Makes me glad I’m not a farmer and don’t have stock to worry about!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

