And so ends Sunday …

Definitely a little cooler today, and even a tiny bit of rain, which we haven’t had for yonks! Managed to get the lawn mowed this afternoon – actually, the way I’ve been going on about it for the last 3 days, you could be forgiven for thinking it’s a matter of life or death! Not so, but good to get it done, all the same, and it didn’t actually take as long as I thought it would, so that was a bonus 🙂

Managed to get in a fair bit of reading today – currently enjoying “Mrs Lincoln’s Dressmaker”, a historical novel by Jennifer Chiaverini about Elizabeth Hobbs Keckley, born a slave but who earned her freedom by the skill of her needle, and became dressmaker to the First Lady, Mary Todd Lincoln. Having very little knowledge of the American Civil War, I’m enjoying learning about Abraham Lincoln and his life at the time, and the obstacles he had to overcome. I’ve enjoyed this author’s Elm Creek Quilts series in the past, but this is a stand-alone novel and quite different.

Another excellent read of late was “Bringing in Finn”, by Sara Connell. Bringing in Finn cover

“In February 2011, 61-year-old Kristine Casey delivered the greatest gift of all to her daughter, Sara Connell: Sara’s son, Finnean. At that moment, Kristine—the gestational carrier of Sara and her husband Bill’s child—became the oldest woman ever to give birth in Chicago.

Bringing in Finn is the incredible story of one woman’s hard-fought and often painful journey to motherhood. In this achingly honest memoir, Connell recounts the tragedy and heartbreak of losing pregnancies; the process of opening her heart and mind to the idea of her 61-year-old mother carrying her child for her; and the profound bond that blossomed between mother and daughter as a result of their unique experience together.”

It was really quite moving and I couldn’t help shedding a few tears from time to time as the story progressed – highly recommend it!

Also did some sewing/quilting today – I’m having a go at making some mug rugs (http://quiltinglibrary.blogspot.co.nz/2011/11/mug-rugs-tutorials.html) from the oodles of scraps I have: lots of fun and makes me feel very virtuous that all those itty bitty pieces of fabric aren’t going to waste, LOL! I have to confess to being a bit of a fabricaholic … probably have enough on hand to start my own fabric shop, actually! But it gives me a huge amount of pleasure to be creative and make something, eg a quilt, that is both beautiful and useful. I can’t believe now that I hated sewing when I was younger – I did 4 years’ sewing at high school and never made a single thing in all that time! Luckily my mother was an excellent sewer and made a lot of our clothes – you’d think it would have rubbed off on me at the time, but no, I just couldn’t get enthusiastic about it at all. Bit sad, really – think of all the extra quilts and other creative stuff I could have made!

Henry Lee likes my fabric too …
DSCF9018 auto corrected

Short week for me this week, as I have a day off coming up on Friday, to give me a three-day weekend: yippee! Also have a digital camera class to look forward to next Saturday afternoon, so I’m sure the week will whizz by in no time at all – here’s to a good one! 🙂

3 thoughts on “And so ends Sunday …

  1. Thank you, my supporters! 🙂 🙂 Gina, hope the birthday bash goes well (tell Saskia and Lilja I thoroughly approve of their choosing to be pirates rather than princesses – pirates have way more fun!!) – and as for the temperature, -11C, brrrr is all I can say!!!

    Reply
  2. Hello Great Auntie Sasa!! Well done on your blog! You have been most efficient indeed. Love your hoghedge – wish that we got them here! It is a balmy – 11C here today just ready to celebrate Saskia´s birthday with a pirate and princess party – my 2 have chosen to be pirates to my immense satisfaction…lol. Keep it going and promise to try and check it out as often as I can. Love and hugs to you from all of us here xxxx

    Reply
  3. Well now! Let me be the first to open this “bubbly”, er blog! Great stuff Sasa … excellent idea. Good to be a wallflower and enjoy your fun. Loved the captioned shots. Here’s to having a better week than last.
    Hugs. F xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

